The Fixes by Owen Matthews

Even though my YA Book Challenge doesn’t start until the new year begins, I wanted to start it early just so I could have some content on here. Even though this was not my first book read in December, it was the first book that I read after I decided to read 50 books in one year.Now, enough with the small talk, let’s talk books.

This book… I am not really sure what to say about it. It was a quick, easy, and entertaining read, but I doubt it will be on any award lists this year. It’s intended superficiality made this book frustrating but in a way that made you want to read more.The main character¬†E was a character that will resonate with some. Though his antics are unrealistic, his desire for love and ability to be swept up in a whirlwind romance are something all of us can relate to.

I will say that it was nice to see a gay character in a role that was not heavy, motivational, or tragic. I am proud to see so many wonderful stories being told to get the masses relating and rallying behind the LGBTQ community, but I enjoyed seeing a gay character in a book that dealt very little with gay issues. Not sure if anyone will agree with me on that, but it just made being gay seem normal not a major identifier.

I would tell any reader: This book is a fun read that will fly by. One Thumb Up.

I would tell any librarian or buyer: This book would be a great secondary addition to any collection if the budget allows.

Leave a Reply

