Book 2: Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin

This book is the second book in the Wolf by Wolf duology. If you have not read the first book, you might want to read it before reading this review. Just a heads up.

As you might remember from my previous post, I bought this book 15 minutes after finishing the first one. I was so stoked to read it, and I finally got to (after finishing Six of Crows). I can say it was well worth the immediate purchase.

Just as the first book was, Blood for Blood was masterfully written. Graudin used every resource available to her to plan out a realistic and strategic novel that told what could have happened in an alternate reality of WWII. I never felt as if this book was stretching to make parts fit together. Everything was thought out before putting pen to paper, and it shows. If you want a series that makes sense, is well connected, and has vivid characters from start to finish, this is the book for you.

Yael and Luka are the characters that you would expect in a book like this, but that does not detract from this story. If you don’t fall in love with Luka Löwe, you might need to have your head examined. He is the definition of swoonable (which I can say because “swoonable” isn’t even a word). That isn’t where this one ends though. We get to see more about Yael’s past, Luka’s life, and even Felix. This story twists and turns into the perfect spiral of heartbreak, triumph, and life.

For Readers, READ THIS DUOLOGY NOW!

For Librarians: If you haven’t bought this series already, you are way behind on the times. It is perfection at it’s best.

SPOILER ALERT: I understand the need of killing off one of the main characters, but can I just say that my heart broke and tears filled my eyes at work when I read that chapter. I think my heart is still sore.

 

Leave a Reply

