Book 4: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

It has been a long time since I have been so engulfed in a book that I have read it one day. This was the book. I can say with honesty that many people will not like it, and they are entitled to that opinion, but they are WRONG.

This book is about pure emotions: love, hate, desire, despair, envy, angst. It is everything a coming-of-age, coming out, YA book should be. It made me have all the feels. You fall in love with the purity of the author. You hate Ari at times. You love Dante. You remember the torturous time that was teenage years.

I think we knew from the beginning how this novel would end, but it was a beautiful and difficult journey. Don’t let that keep you from reading it. This novel is important. Even though it is “historical,” it is still what many go through. Perpetuating the hetero-normative lifestyle is doing no one any good, and this novel show exactly why.

For the every day reader, I think you should give this one a try. It is an important story, and I think you will enjoy the emotional ride.

For the librarian, it is an older book, but I think you should buy it if you don’t already have it. Benjamin Alire Saenz is coming out with another book soon, so I think this one might have some more life in the wake.

I know you all think I probably love every book. That is not true. I am sure once I start getting away from my old “Need to Read” list I will start being a lot more critical. This one was just THAT good.

Leave a Reply

