Book 5: Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige

I actually finished this book on Friday, but I was flying to ALA Midwinter, so I had to delay my review for a couple of days. Just don’t want anything to think that I am slacking of on my Book Challenge.

This book is #3 in the Dorothy Must Die series. If you have not read the first two, you might want to stop reading this review now. I will say that you should definitely go pick up the first two books though. They are great.

This book was a little better than the last in some ways, but not as good in others. I would highly recommend reading it for pleasure, but it loses some of its charm about halfway through. We have been building up to this big ending forever, but it is a bit of a letdown. Yellow Brick War makes it sound like a big epic saga of battles and warriors, but it was more of a Yellow Brick Skirmish.

The character development hits some high points with the development of Madison and Dustin and Amy’s mom, but the character development went especially stagnant with the Wicked members (Nox especially). I am hoping the last book answers all of the questions raised throughout this series. I know the Quadrant likes to keep Amy in the dark, but Paige shouldn’t keep her readers in the dark much longer. We need answers (or we’ll stop reading).

Also, NOT the last book. Keep a lookout for The End of Oz this March.

For readers, pick it up. Who doesn’t love The Wizard of Oz?!

For librarians and buyers, I think this is something you should have in your library. It might be a fad, but I think this one will last for a couple years past its prime at least.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

