Book 7: Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

Now the full title of this book is: Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between, but that is just too long for a title for a blog post. It works beautifully for her book though. I have to go in saying that I am biased toward anything Gilmore Girls. I have watched every episode available since the show came on in 2000. I bought the DVDs and watched them over the summer in preparation for the next season. Since the show went off air in 2007, I have watched all 7 seasons annually just because of the wit and dialogue. I will try to be as objective as possible, but I’m probably just going to praise Lauren Graham. Sorry.

Lauren Graham is a goddess (that objectivity lasted a long time). She is a woman that can take a character and make you fall in love with her. She did it with Lorelai Gilmore on Gilmore Girls, she did it with Sarah Braverman on Parenthood, she did it with Franny Banks in her novel Someday, Somday Maybe, and she has done it again with herself in Talking as Fast as I Can.

Sometimes people are just funny because of the lines they are written. Sometimes, they are funny in real life, but it isn’t the genuine wit. That is not the case with Lauren Graham. She brings that banter and wit into this autobiography, and you feel like you’ve just become her best friend.

I have to say: Lorelai was never my favorite character. I loved her. I loved her like she was my own mother, but she always bothered me with her temper and obsession with independence. Lauren Graham has made me rethink everything about Lorelai’s journey throughout the (now) 8 seasons of Gilmore Girls. This book is open and honest (without being too raw and gritty). It was a great escape from the reality of today.

For readers, I suggest reading this book even if you don’t love Gilmore Girls or Parenthood (though I question your taste in TV if you like neither).

For librarians and buyers, Gilmore Girls has entered cult television. That means it will be around for a while. Buy this book. It will get circulated.

Leave a Reply

