Book 9: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

What do I say about this book? I really liked it? The plot was phenominal? Finally something that reminds me of everything Sci-fi that I love but also nothing at all?

I will settle on this: This book is weird. The format is neat, but it sometimes distracts the reader and detracts from the plot. I know it is there to enhance the plot (I watch Star Trek. I know what a log is.), but this might have too many moving components.

If you love Star Trek (especially Voyager), Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, and even the Walking Dead, this book is for you. It has components from each storyline that will make you reminisce about the wonderfulness of Sci-Fi, and even though it has all of these similarities, it is a unique piece of literature. You think you’ve heard the story before, and then, the plot twists and the story changes. It is a thrilling 600 pages (don’t worry the format of the book makes it longer than it actually is). If you’re worried about the thickness of the book, I finished it in just a couple of days only reading a couple hours at a time. It is fast, fun, and easy.

If I were basing this book off of writing, plot, and characters, 5 stars! Since I have to also add format into this equation, 4.25 stars.

I will say this: I cannot wait to read the next one, and I cannot wait for the 3rd one to come out.

For readers, I think this book has something for everyone, but if you are not comfortable with gory descriptions or sci-fi plots, you might want to skip it. There is a little romance though!

For libraries, this book is a must. You might have to book talk it a little to get it off the shelf initially, but once it goes off, it stays off. Word of mouth with teens is truly phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

