Book 11: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

This was a re-read for me, and I can promise you that I will also be re-reading his second book, History is All You Left Me. I say this because Adam Silvera is my favorite current author, and I will probably be re-reading these books for years to come.

This book is mostly realistic with a bit of Sci-Fi thrown in for flair. I think that’s why I like it. It uses hyperbole and science-fiction to really hit home about the many struggle gay teens in urban areas go through. Most people think teens in cities have it easier than those in rural areas. I will let you in on a secret: no gay teen has it easy. This book reminds us of that.

If there was an experimental procedure that allowed you to forget all of the horrors in your life (or make you straight), would you do it? I mean I think a lot of people would struggle with this. I am of the camp: what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger, but what if depression and suicide are a constant possibility? Would you do it then?

Aaron is a character that is easily relate-able. He is a good guy that makes mistakes and finds himself (more than once) because of good timing and friends. His journey to finding the happiness he needs and deserves is rocky. He has a hard life, and he has a chance to forget everything.

Adam Silvera does not like happy endings. I will just let you know. He slices neatly and with precision through this entire book. Slowly opening this wound in your chest. Then, he rips it open, tears out your heart, and laughs maniacally in the background.

For readers, this book is the heartbreak you need and want. You might want a box of tissues though.

For librarians, Adam is going to be huge within the LGBT YA fiction world. I think having this book is a necessary purchase for that community.

 

Leave a Reply

