Book 12: Archie Volume One by Mark Waid and Fiona Staples

I typically do not read graphic novels. Very rarely do they draw interest anymore, but I couldn’t pass up this one. I LOVED the Archie comics when I was a kid. I remember my mom bringing them back from the grocery store.

This one is just as cute. I cannot say there is a ton of depth to the graphic novel, but there is diversity, which is something that we  can all appreciate from a reboot of a comic series started in late 40s. We will see just how deep the diversity goes with the rest of the volumes.

I will say this. Archie is cute. I am typically not one to comment on cartoon characters, but these artists know how to draw swoon-worthy characters.

For readers, give it a try. It is something light hearted and easy. If you are an old Archie reader, you definitely need to try this series.

For libaries, I think this will be one that parents and teens can talk about together. It is a fun way to reminisce and introduce your childhood to your teens.

Leave a Reply

