Book 16: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I have bee inactive for a little longer than usual. I took a trip to see my new niece and was too wrapped up in new baby world to actually review anything. I did however finish 3 books, so these will be rapidly posted.

Cooked Kingdom is Book 2 in a duology within the Grisha World. The first book was Six of Crows, which I wrote about before my book challenge began. If you do not want any spoilers what-so-ever, I will say this: this book was a good read. It was a great addition to the first book and the world that Leigh Bardugo has created.

This book was better and worse than the first one. I loved some of the character development, but I feel that it became slightly repetitive and predictable. I never knew what was going to happened exactly, but we could see the hitch in the rode from a mile away. I feel this happens in a lot of YA writing when it comes to series/trilogies/duologies/sagas; authors churn out the book too fast and some of the sparkle from the first book is gone. I felt this way about Bardugo’s first trilogy as well.

This book is great about diversity. Some have complained that it exoticizes/fetishizes European cultures. I’m not even sure what that means. It is a fictional world where exploitation is regular. There are a variety of skin colors, body types, sexual orientations, and disorders within this book. Few authors can say they have added those all within one series.

For readers, if you liked the first book, this book will be the perfect addition. If you haven’t read the first book, you totally should!

For librarians, I highly recommend buying this book if you haven’t already. This world might continue to expand, and this book will be the tipping point for the upcoming books.

Leave a Reply

