Book 18: Boyfriends with Girlfriends by Alex Sanchez

I love Alex Sanchez. He is a gifted author that makes you think and touches the subjects that most wouldn’t want anything to do with. I also love that his books are fast reads. This book took me less than a plane ride to finish. I sadly wish I would’ve spent the time reading something else.

This book is not something of Sanchez’s that you should waste your time reading. When reading this book, I spent the whole time just telling myself, “This book was written in like 2003 or 2004.” It was not. This book was dated and didn’t have a distinction between character voices. The author just wrote in some version of third person that I couldn’t even follow most of the time.

There are 4 main characters: Lance, Sergio, Allie, and Kimiko. Lance is ignorant about bisexuality, which is something a lot of gay men are ignorant about at one point or the other, and these issues are never truly resolved. Sergio is bisexual, and his character is the best developed. I also swooned over him just a bit. Allie is questioning, and her character has good development as well, but her voice is blend. She is also the main one that says phrases that make you think we are 20 years in the past. Kimiko is the character that was well written for the time being, but her character might need a refresher 6 years later. She is a “butch” lesbian that would most likely identify as genderqueer or just queer today. She suffers from low self-esteem, but the book does not spend enough time on her story to really develop it in the way it should.

For readers, this might be a fun and easy read, but it is not one of my highly recommended books.

For librarians, pass. I wish someone would’ve told my library to pass back in 2011. I cannot imagine this book was ever superbly reviewed.

Leave a Reply

