Book 34: Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

First, let me say that I have not stopped reading. I have just been so bust with work! We received a grant, which has taken up all of my time. We have also been hiring for 4 positions where I have been the chair of the search committee. It has just been a super busy month. I will now bombard you with 4 book reviews.

This book was well on its way to being a 5-star review from me, which is now becoming harder and harder as I am forcing myself to be extremely critical of YA literature. I give it 4.5 stars!

I loved this book. It is a book about serious subjects that don’t make it too heavy, but it also doesn’t shy away from calling someone out for their idiocy. Microaggressions are real, and this book teaches you exactly how they happen and how white friends can handle it the wrong way.

I think this book did a great job of building this world and giving the characters a voice. I felt like I knew Jade, and even though I could see that some of her teen angst was annoying, it felt real. Sometimes, teens are insufferable. I didn’t judge it too harshly because most of her angst was justified.

The thing I think this book did wrong was rush the ending. I didn’t realize the book was wrapping up until it wrapped up. I am not one for beautiful packages wrapped neatly with a pretty bow on top. I especially do not like this when it is a book dealing with social injustice and marginalized peoples. I don’t need the end to be tragic, but I want a little more emotion before sending them on their happily ever after.

I rarely say this, but I think this book could’ve had about 30-50 more pages, and it still would’ve been a great book. Maybe even give it a little time to wrap up without rushing.

It was still a great book that I will be recommending to everyone as a summer read.

For readers, this is a must read in my opinion. It is not perfect, but it will open your eyes to how microaggressions pile up until they become too much.

For librarians, this is a book for book club. I cannot imagine that this book will lose traction in the upcoming months.

One Comment Add yours

  1. This seems like a really fun challenge and you seem to be pretty far in! Just stumbled upon your blog today and I’m in love. Great post, liked and subscribed.
Check out my blog sometime? https://noirerewritten.com

    Have a good day!

    Mena

    Like

Leave a Reply

