Book 35: Bull by David Elliott

I picked this up because of a selection committee. Don’t get me wrong; I love re-tellings and mythology, but I typically get bored with books in verse. I just think they are a little long, and the author is typically too interested in making them beautiful and melodic. This book shows that verse can be something more.

From Poseidon’s opening line, “Whaddup, bitches?” I was hooked. Elliott used his gift for words and created distinct voices in poetry in a way many fail to accomplish in prose. His use of different styles of verse make it easy to know the character. Is it possible to be crude and beautifully written all at the same time? If so, this book epitomizes it.

I was laughing out loud while reading this book. Some of the quips, puns, and innuendo was just too funny. I am not sure who will be picking the book up, but I know that I will be recommending it to anyone that loves Percy Jackson but might be too old for it now.

It had one or two flaws, but they were probably just flaws to me. I think this book would have been better if it didn’t make tangible anachronisms. The language is understandable, but there were some references to items not yet invented or discussed within the text, and I thought that might have been a little unnecessary. Other than that, I can’t think of anything major. Excellent read.

For readers, this book is quick, easy, and hilarious. Read it now!

For librarians, this book is quick, easy, and hilarious. Why would you not want something like this in your collection?!

Leave a Reply

