Book 36: The Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson

Shaun David Hutchinson is one of my favorite authors. He always leaves my brain hurting with his writing. I never know if what I’m reading is true, science fiction, or a figment of the character’s imagination. I love it.

This book is told the from the unreliable narrator, Ozzie. On July 3, 2017, Ozzie had a boyfriend, Tommy, but on July 4, 2017, Tommy had disappeared, and Ozzie is the only person that remembers he exists. Now, Ozzie must find a way to get him back or move on without him.

This book is a mind fuck. I seriously do not know how else to describe it. The entire book you find yourself trying to make peace with what you are reading, and then you really do think, maybe the universe is shrinking. Maybe this is happening to us in every day life, but we just don’t know.

I live for books that dabble in the existential. This book does not disappoint. If you are looking for another We are the Ants, you have found it. I do not think this is as good as Hutchinson’s first attempt at blowing our minds away, but he does is just the same.

This book has characters that feel real. You might not know if the world is real, but it’s characters are more realistic than the people sitting beside me at work today. That is an impressive feat. Ozzie, Lua, Calvin all seem to be friends that we’ve never had, but we want them to be now. Calvin is a dream boy. He has his issues, but something about his character made me want to snuggle.

I’m sorry this review rambles and divert itself into a black hole, but I cannot put into word how I feel about this book. I will just say read it. Whoever you are, read it.

Leave a Reply

