Book 43: No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista

I really do not know how to review books that are just cute, summer romances. It was good. It wasn’t great, but I did enjoy reading it and rooting for Nathan and Preston. I will try to give a quick evaluation of the main points though.

This book did not really have diversity. It was about a rich community and both characters were affluent and white. I think privilege is something that could definitely be talked about when reading this book, but I honestly don’t think it detracted from the point of the book.

I loved how sexuality wasn’t really pinpointed in this novel. It just was. Nathan did not know for sure if Preston was gay, but that wasn’t an issue. It also never really focused on worrying about coming out, which is also refreshing. I love to see normal, gay, budding romances.

The plot was fast and nonsensical at times, but I think that is why it was the perfect summertime pool book. I’m not going to say that it was not worth reading, but I think you have to be in the mood for that kind of novel.

Leave a Reply

