Book 46: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

This book was a solid 4 stars. I have been trying to be extremely critical lately because I feel I give high ratings, but it has been very hard because I’ve just been reading really good books.

I have a lot of really great things to say about this book, but I want to go ahead and get a couple of negatives out of the way first.

I wish that Dimple wouldn’t have been so self-destructive. I feel like it is slightly over done, and it always seems to be the female that does it. I don’t think it made that big of a difference for me, but it made her unlikable to me. I also just don’t feel like she was a consistent character. There is dynamic and then there are characters that are written as two individual characters.

I also really dislike this cover. I love that they use orange, but this cover just bothers me so much! Where are the glasses? Where is the crazy hair? Why is the title so small? I personally think it would’ve been better to have a flat design over someone that doesn’t even resemble Dimple.

I loved Rishi. He is a dynamic character that evolves over time. It shows that home life can be a bit of a bubble and parents can hold a lot over you even without really trying to. Rishi meets people with different ideas that still respect their parents and it helps him become a more evolved and believable character. All of the characters were well developed, even if I think Dimple’s character was a little over-developed.

I love that this took on a lot of topics as afterthoughts. It wasn’t like this book was set out to crush the patriarchy, or diminish arranged marriages, but it wanted you to see those things and give insight about them. Talk about the real struggles that girls, immigrants and first generation individuals, and many other people go through on a daily basis. It shed light on how male-centric the world can be, and it shows it to you from an own voice, person of color author’s perspective.

This book is amazing, and I hope you all have a chance to read it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. revelation70 says:

    maybe I will 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

